Getting Started - Which way to go?

Foo1

Hello,

I am a guitarist and I just got back into playing after taking a 10 year break! Before that I played for about 10 years.

My style is instrumental rock/fusion/jazz..

I want to get started in doing some home recording. I know nothing about recording..so basically I need some basic starters info.

OK...I have my guitars and amp. That's it! The sounds I need are simple...guitar, bass, drums, and occasionally keyboard.

Which direction to I go in? Do I buy a drum machine, 4 track recorder, and some sort of keyboard equipment (BTW - I can play basic piano chords and bass). Or is there other equipment that has some of these already combined?

Thanks!

Foo

Well 2 quick questons....
1. Budget???
2. Do U have a descent computer??

becuase a computer can be a drum machine/keyboard(midi)/4 track recorder all in one.....

Sabith

definetly budgets the big question...but sabith is right , the pc can be a great tool , providing its up to the job .. also how many people are you looking at recording ?? is it just u ??

Thanks for the replies. Yes, I have a computer but it certainly needs to be upgraded (i.e. replaced) which I might do regardless of my recording situation...

So...can I get some advice on both directions. That is, using the computer and going the more traditional avaenue of 4-track recording.

Thanks.

Also...yes, it is just me recording. Like I mentioned most of my music will be guitar (2 tracks), bass, and drums, and occasionally keyboard.

Sabith didn't ask you what your budget was because he was curious - he asked because budget determines which route you can go - cassette 4-track recorder, standalone box, ADAT plus mixer, or computer recording.

What's your budget?

Oops Sorry! I didn't mean to dismiss that question...I haven't really decided on a definite budget but for our purposes let's say somewhere around...$1,000.

Thanks.