Getting drums sounding fatter..

AndyB

Hey all

I've been recording drums in my home set-up for a few months, and have learnt to get them sounding nice using nothing but tiny hints of reverb and panning at mixdown. BUT ! what i ask for your help in is... How do i get them sounding much fuller, fatter and better ? At my disposal i have a Soundcraft Spirit M12, a pair of overheads, e604's on the two toms (12" & 14"), sm58 on the 14x5 very high-tuned snare (about to acquire a 57 for this !!), A/T Pro-25 on the kick, and a couple t'other mics on the ride and hihats. ALso have compressors (dbx + behringer), actually, they're all compressor/gates, 6 channels worth. i do have funds / spare channels to add more if neds be.

Everytime i've gone to a gig with a proper soundguy, and gone into proper studios, the drum sound is punchy.

So.. what comp/gate, eq and techniques etc settings would you suggest i use ? i ask as i'm self-taught !! Am after the modern rock/punk drum sound, with that really chunky and clicky kick sound. Also what techniques and mics are best for room ambience ?

Any help and advice would be greatly appreciated ! :)

First of all, the drums themselves will have the biggest impact on the overall quality of the sound but assuming that's all good, try some parallel compression.
Get a mix going of the drums that you like (panned and levels). Now these channels are already assigned to the main stereo buss. Also assign the kick, snare and toms tracks (not the overheads)to two channels of a SUB GROUP. Patch this SUB GROUP out to a compressor (I've used a Behringer Composer here with satisfactory results) and return that to two mixer channels (or even a stereo AUX return if you're starved for inputs) and step on it pretty hard. Bring this compressed mix of the drums up under the existing drum mix you already had going on to taste. You can get a very aggressive sound this way.