Getting a good low end without blowing stuff up

Jon X

I have a problem getting a good low end sound in the mixing and mastering stage on most songs once the CD is burned. I get it sounding great on my monitors, but when the CD is played on smaller speakers... such as computer speakers or even sometimes on my crappy truck speakers, the low end overloads the speakers and distorts. If I turn it down to a level that doesn't distort in the mixing or mastering stage I don't get the nice low end on speakers that can handle it, such as my home stereo. I am relatively new to mixing, and I'm mastering stuff myself using software. Anyone else have a similar dilemma? I want to get a good low end, but don't want the CD to be terrible for others to listen to on certain systems. Commercial CDs that I compare my stuff too don't have the same distortion effect on the smaller speakers. I have spent literaly weeks trying to resolve this problem with certain songs. I've compressed and limited all I know how to do, but then again I don't know all that much.

Is it my lack of knowledge and skill, lack of equipment, or something else I'm just totaly missing?

Any, and I do mean ANY, advice or suggestions would be appreciated. I don't even think I would mind someone saying I need to go out and buy some real equipment rather than use software. I'm thinking of sending out a disc to get mastered to see what they can do with it and what I'm missing out on. That bothers me though because I want to be able to do it myself, and I think it's possible to get the sound I'm looking for in a home studio. Thanks for any help.

Run your .wav file playback through some of those crappy speakers you're talking about
before you burn the CD. Every mastering house I've read about uses several sets of speakers including some real garbage ones.

You gotta watch your low end with digital!!!