Getting 24 bit recording with Sonar?

JPlush76

I'm pretty new to Sonar and I've done everything in 16 bit mode so far, because when I try to switch to 24 bit everything pretty much freezes up and won't playback

I have a new computer with the right hardware for it:
Pent IV 1.7 GHZ 500+ Meg Ram Soundblaster Platinum Card, Echo Gina 24bit input/output system

Any tricks to getting 24 bit?

Also, does it really make a difference, being cd's are only 16 bit anyway?

thanks all!

I see no reason why with your system you shouldn't be able to use 24 bit recording. I'm using 24 bit with a 733 MHz PIII.

What OS? What drivers are you attempting to use (WDM or MME)? Are you using the latest drivers for your sound card? Did you disable the SB from your audio devices in Sonar? Are you trying to use input monitoring? Do you have DMA enabled for your hard drives?

I would suggest that you start by making sure your hard drive(s) have DMA enabled. Next I would disable the SB Live in Sonar. Then I would disable Input Monitoring (if it is enabled). Lastly I would check off the Use Only MME Drivers box in Sonar. Then set your audio to 24 bits, reprofile the sound card and exit and reenter Sonar.

Hopefully that will get you going. If that works, and you want to try going back to WDM drivers, go ahead and see what happens. The other stuff I would probably leave as is.

If it doesn't work, c'mon back and we'll see what else we can think of.

As for whether 24 bits makes a difference, you are getting into most people's religion with this question. Those in favor will say that you get a better signal to noise ratio when recording at 24 bits, and that any subsequent processing (dsp) will be done at the higher quality, and that these two benefits outweigh the degradation that occurs when you finally drop it back to 16 bits (assuming you use a good dithering algorithm for this last step).