General information for a starter

Gotan1980

HI,

I play acoustic guitar, all sorts of stuff. I want to start recording some of my music but really don't know where to start. I don't have a massive budget and don't really want to get too heavily involved. If anyone has any advice as to how to start out, would be much appreciated. All I really want to do is record my guitar, voice, perhaps a few other lines. Wouldn't be looking for say 5 different lines. Info on the minimum equipment that i would need (i assume mic, recording equipment, leads etc.) as you can see, I am a real beginner but would really appreciate some help.

Thanks for your advice in advance.

Charlie

Gotan1980 said:
I don't have a massive budget and don't really want to get too heavily involved.
Not sure how seriously you meant this to sound, but being on a budget and wanting something to sound reasonable means you have to get heavily involved!

You can't simply slap a couple of mics up and hit record -- well, you can, but it will sound like crap...

I think you need to decide on what you want to focus on, and then ask specific questions...

why don't you get your self a condenser and a dynamic mic, a preamp and a four track. You could probably get all that for 200-300 bucks, and get some decent guitar and vocal sound with it, of course depending on what mics and preamp you get....maybe a shure sm58, a marshall condenser mic and a VTB or a grace preamp....old tascam four-track..and start making some records :)
Get something to listen to your recordings too...headphones or hook your recorder up to your home stereo.
just do a good search on similar equipment that was mentioned and take your time...

good luck

Thanks, that is just the sort of advice I need. I am really keen to get this sorted but obviously realise that it takes time and money. However, if I can get started, then I will hopefully begin to learn some stuff as well.

Thanks a lot