Gear suggestions for the big opera voice

Cmcaskill

I am a Wagnerian soprano and would love to do some streaming and home recording. Space is decent, not great but there are some open places for the voice to bounce around. Problem is I have no idea how to mic a huge voice — I know the mic has to be far away and I will need an audio interface (I have a UA Apollo solo, I hope that’s a good choice). I also am likely to be recording in churches or other medium spaces, wherever I can find— and

Can I get something that will work for operatic overtones and seriously huge voice in the $500 - $1000 range?

Total novice at this stuff, but I need to learn fast. I don’t really need editing tools at the moment (people usually prefer totally unaltered sound for things like audition prescreening).

thanks,

—CM

Last edited:
I thought we did this, but I can't find it - so, here we go.

There are two aspects here and oddly, volume is not really one of them. It's the space. Sound bouncing around is usually destructive if it's ordinary home sized rooms. We think that churches always sound good, but they don't. I do quite a lot of opera style recordings and I've got a smallish list of big and small churches that work for recording. Saxon and Norman churches tend to be good as a general thing - but some of the smaller churches cross some kind of line and sound pretty poor. I've not isolated the reason. I suspect but can't prove that it's the ones where ceilings have been replaced during renovations and they've added insulation and modern materials - and added soft cushions and things to the pews? One locally that I often have to visit has really boring and unexciting acoustics.