Garage home studio build- My idea, and your thoughts please!

GazLion

I've just recently moved house, and I plan to convert my garage into a home studio / office area. I'd like to outline my initial plan, and then hear any thoughts or advise that you may have. I have never done anything like this before, but I have been reading plenty of threads on here from people who have done similar things.

The space -

Standalone garage, around 30' away from my house, and any other houses for that matter.
Overall internal size - 10' (W) x 19' (L) x 7' (H)
Floor - concrete
Walls - Breeze blocks
Roof - Steel sheet
Electricity is already running to the garage

What I want it for - Mainly recording acoustic guitar, vocals and electric guitar/bass. Then mixing to be able to produce some nice demos. I have no plans to record acoustic drums.

Also, as I work from home, I would like to use this space as my home office rather than the spare bedroom where I am currently.

Picture of how it looks currently -

SAM_1166.JPG

I plan to build a stud partition wall, around 13' down the length of the space, to allow me to retain a small section at the garage door end for general storage. This would leave me with a studio room space of around 13' x 10' to work with.

Rough diagram of the plan -

Studio design.JPG

There are currently 2 windows, one at the top and one along the side of the garage. I plan to block up the window to the side, leaving just the one window at the top. I will then be putting in an internal plasterboard roof, obviously within the studio space only. I will also be changing the crappy wooden door to something more substantial.

So thats my initial plan to get started with. Obviously I am a long way off thinking about acoustic treatment, but I'm in no real rush with this project. Thankfully I will have the help of my in-law, who is in the building trade, but doesn't have any knowledge on the layout of a space for acoustic purposes.