Funk Song, which i did all myself.

Rassoodocks

hrm... well this is kind of a overly funky funk song that has a slightly melancholy name/theme. I couldn't help following in the footsteps of so many mega dorky jazz muso's who play a funky tune and sing about lost love. This isn't quite lost love, but it's not s club 7.
Click the link, get the song!

this is my third mix with my new gear. Also, my first bass line i've bothered recording. I'm a guitarist singer. The drumming is ok, for my standards, it took MANY takes.
my equipment is as follows.
Aardvark direct pro 24/96
2 x nt1000's (vocals, acoustic, electric, bass guitar and drum oh)
shure bg 4.1 (snare drum)
akg d550 (bass drum)

i mixed on headphones. Don't have 1500 dollars to throw around, sorry.

I also recorded the project in 24bits 48000khz, using cakewalk.

please give me any information as to how i could get this sounding better. Is it worth recording in 96000khz. i've tried it and the aarvark seems to growl at me (not literally)

looking foward to your comments
Rory.

Nice funky groove...everything's clicking but the rhythm guitar. It needs to be cleaner, punchier, and tighter to make the track simmer. Cool song, change at around 2:35 was interesting, and I dug the fill guitar on the right. Nice work.

yes, i know what you mean about the rhythm... i've been recording it direct, because this room is horrible in the mids/mid highs.. ok for anything else because it's not loud enough to cause too much out of phase reflection, so i go direct. I've had some trouble getting my rhythm guitar sounding 'big' and 'punchy' i guess it's the room.. cos everything else sounds fine... although.. i still want better quality. the song called 'unconditional' is in my opinion, pro studio level. I don't know if i'm getting the best with what i've got...

we'll see.

Rassoodocks said:
...so many mega dorky jazz muso's...
ROFLMAO...I don't think I've ever heard that particular characterization before. :D