Fruity Loops any good?

PeteAnon

Ok, I'm just a dumb guitarist, so go easy on me. I just started this conversation in another thread about standalone drum machines, but it's really it's own topic.

I need good realistic sounding drums for my songs--I play rock, blues, and ballads. My current setup is that I track my guitar, vocals, etc., with a standalone digital multitracker (I play to a click track that's built in, for tempo), and then I import the waves from my standalone digital multitracker into n-track.

I downloaded the Fruity Loops demo, and in my opinion, the samples that come with the program sound electronic-- even the ones that are supposed to sound real (the acoustic kit). Here's some questions for those of you using Fruity Loops:

1 - Can (and how do) you get realistic sounding drums for rock using the program?

2 - Is it hard to indicate veloicty on individual drum hits, so that you can hit the same drum with different amounts of power?

3 - Are imported loops better than individual drum sample kits? If so, where do you get good loops?

4 - Anyone have songs on the internet that I can listen to, that you've done using fruity loops?

I'm really looking for a simple, easy to use interface, that sounds good. I like the loop creation interface on fruity loops. I don't like the complicated drum sound editor stuff where you change the wave, etc.-- that bores me to tears, and I have no idea how to use it.

Pete

Pete,

sorry I didnt answer this sooner, but im just a dumb guitarist too:D .................

1 - In my opinion, yes you can

2 - One of the big drawbacks of Fruity Loops is not being able to do that...you can however program maybe 2 or 3 different volume snares, for example, into your loop and use them randomly when creating a pattern, but then you are limited in the number of different samples you can use in a pattern.....