Fricken Chicken

Acousticles

Student Loans Fund Rawk
This is a song written by my little brother and his band. They recorded it in a fairly ghetto fashion, and as such the quality is a bit lacking. That being said, I think their brand of bluesy-garage rock sits well in Lo-Fi.

I did a quick mix of it last night for him because he's more interested in the writing of music and thus really has no interest in mixing further than laying all the tracks down and getting volumes decent.

I'm fairly new to all this mixing business so lemme know what you guys think (about the song and the mix).

(Be brutal if necessary, I want to learn from mistakes :) )

PS- The distortion on the vox is permanent

I agree that the lo-fi sound is a good match. If it were mine to change, I would try to fatten up the kick drum and pull back the snare a hair. The kick is lacking in tone and volume. And the dist on the voice gives it a LOT of presence, so it can come down in the mix and still have plenty of pop. The tone of the voice has a quality that makes it somewhat fatiguing to listen to especially at it's current level in the mix. Perhaps a nice scoop in the eq from about 700 hz to 1500 hz maybe a 2-3 db cut would make the voice less "in your face".

Overall, sounds like a good "raw" tune to me.

ac

Agreed with Accatoir, you need more kick (bottom, kick) to match with the bass gtr.Snare is a bit thin too.Bass guitar tone is pretty good, "follow it" with the drums...

Vocal is what is, if you can´t change...song is nice.

Ciro

Yea...I agree with the more kick drum...but the problem is that when they recorded, the whole trap set is recorded on one track...haha, so.....I can try to boost the eq of that track, but it may mess with the rest of the drums...I'll see what I can do :)