fret noise, how to reduce

daddymac

this is a small question, I'm only a rank amateur.

How do the pros keep the fret noise down when changing from one chord to the next?

thanks

When you say "changing from chord to chord," it makes me suspect you are talking about string noise (sqeeek!).

In either case, the answer is about the same: practice. A better player is releasing and fretting sharply, quickly, and accurately, and playing with a degree of confidence or authority, such that the intended sounds (chords, notes, music) are much louder than unintentional sounds (squeaks, clicks).

The moisture content in your hands, age of the strings, and mic placement, if your recording, can have an effect on string noise. For me, new strings, dry hands, and micing close to the fretboard are all noisier.

Even so, there are times when the atmospheric conditions (or the phase of the moon) bring out the Squeaks. Try rubbing your fingertips on your nose to pick up the oil (of course, if you're not the guitar player, substitute "tell the guitar player to rub his/her fingers on his/her nose"); talcum powder or corn starch, which are slightly messy but don't leave glop on the strings; or record in a (quietly) air-conditioned space.

Some software (Adobe Audition 1.5 and later) allow you to zero in on the squeaks after the fact and eliminate them, but that's a last resort.

Outlaws said:
?

Did they change something? I admit it has been a few years since I played them.

I just played a guitar today that had them (I did'nt notice until I strummed a chord). Damn it! I put it right back. It's like looking under a skirt and finding a set of balls. Ewww! :eek:

They've always sounded like new strings to me, sort of. Jangly with kind of a piezo pickup sound.

TravisinFlorida said:
I just played a guitar today that had them (I did'nt notice until I strummed a chord). Damn it! I put it right back. It's like looking under a skirt and finding a set of balls. Ewww! :eek: