Fostex X-18

hottrocker

I find very little in the way of info on this particular four track recorder. I have tried the fostex site and other boards. Anyone know about this recorder and how best to get good tracks out of it. I am a super newbie. I hope you dont hold that against me. I am a fast learner. I just got interested in recording all my own stuff being that I can play all parts. I have lots of ideas that before laying them down would evaporate. So if anyone has heard of this unit I would be happy for any heads up about getting the most bang for my buck. I also have a Teac 3440 syncaset that is out for repairs that I will be using. I am using for mixdown an Alesis 24 mixing board. But I have soundforge cubase and a couple of the cheaper computer based ones. Any ideas on which way to go? Im not looking to do any real pro stuff but would like to learn how to do stuff right the first time.

Welcome to the board hottrocker......wow, that's a loaded post! I've never heard of the four track you mentioned...is it digital? Sounds like you have a good start on the equipment though. This forum is full of folks with MR8's, VF80's and VF160's even a few 16's and a few others I've never heard of. Long and the short of it is, if you're going to find someone with the info you're looking for, you'll find em here.
Those of us with MR8's basically use our machines for recording and transfer to computer via USB for mixing. A lot of us use n-Track for that. That's where my experience is. I'm kind of a newbie to the recording world too.
Lots of good folks here, just hang tight and someone will eventually find your thread.

bd

BTW, you'll find some very useful information at the Homerecording.com website if you haven't already been there.

I just picked up a Fostex X-18 at a thrift store for $10. I made sure it powered up by attaching a wall wart from another device (yes I checked the specs).