Fostex mr-8......memory problems

electricdread

Please forgive me if this post seems really silly and basic, but I have little to no experience in recording.
I have been playing guitar for 15 years. I have decided to do my own album at home.
I have recently ordered a fostex mr-8. I have been reading on this board about the numerous problems in bouncing/mixing tracks. It is obvious that I will have to purchase a 512 mb CF card.
Many people, seem to record the tracks on the mr-8, and do the mixing on their pc. It seems that having the 512 mb CF card , eliminates these problems to a degree, allowing you work on more songs, at the same time. What I want to know is if there is something that I can use to save the finished songs, when I have mixed it down on the mr-8. We have a family pc, which EVERYONE in the house uses. I do not want to use it for my music projects.
Somewhere I can have them stored, until I take them to my neigbours to have them transfered to cd, or leave them there until i wanna work them another time. I really hoping I will not have to buy a pc. A guy mentioned something to me called a dat.
Anyway.......please help!

Copy the tracks to the PC using Wave Manager. It you don't have a CD burner, consider getting one as that is the easiest approach. Burners and blank CD are very cheap today.

Ed

link to wav mananger

You can get the wav manager here:

http://www.fostex.com/index.php?file=support/documents

It's very easy to transfer tracks to and from PC with this, but of course this means you will have to use your computer.

Mixing direct to a stand alone CD burner works well, but with very limited editing and EQ-ing (the MR8 doesn't have EQ)