Fostex E8 help please

ReelFostex!

I just got a Fostex E8...it's huge...no reels yet...but the unit is hardly used. the question is...without reels/tape I wanted to test it out as best I could...It rewinds fast fowards fine and quiet...BUT...press play w/o reels or tape and the speed is still as fast as fast forward...do I have a problem, or will it go away with tape installed does the tape sensor need to be activated in order for it to slow down?...be gentle...I am new at this...but the unit is unused as well as I can see, still in the same original box. Thanks!!!:)

Thanks & thanks for the Fostex documentation site.

Thanks...that makes sense...yes I will get it checked out....it is so nice...omg it weight 75 lbs...and is clean...new tape, yes I have their site and will use only new 1.5 mil tape...as the manual says...thanks so much!

I just got a Fostex E8...it's huge...no reels yet...but the unit is hardly used. the question is...without reels/tape I wanted to test it out as best I could...It rewinds fast fowards fine and quiet...BUT...press play w/o reels or tape and the speed is still as fast as fast forward...do I have a problem, or will it go away with tape installed does the tape sensor need to be activated in order for it to slow down?...be gentle...I am new at this...but the unit is unused as well as I can see, still in the same original box. Thanks!!!:)

Yes, once a reel of tape is loaded, the reel motors will slow right down to the normal running speed. Without a tape loaded, as you have it now, they are speeding up to take up the slack...or at least that's what they "think" they are doing! :D They don't actually know that there's no reel of tape loaded so they're just happily spinning away, dutifully taking up the slack in the tape which isn't actually there! ;)

Cheers! :)