Food For Thought!

tanlith

King of the Wicker People
I've been floating around this BBS for a few years now and one thing that keeps comming up is a common question:

How do I market myself? How do I sell my music online?

But the people asking the question never seem to wait for an answer before lamenting "With so much free music online I don't stand a chance."

Well, here's something to cinsider: If you have a product to sell: SOMEONE WILL BUY IT... No matter how stupid is sounds it's true.

If it weren't true, then there wouldn't be late night infomercials selling "The Greatest Vitamin In The World", or that old product - hair in a can... remember that one? Non toxic spray paint to give the illusion of hair? LOL

Still not convinced that you can market ANYTHING? Then explain the Jerry Springer show... or Cheaters... or Blind Date & Fifth Wheel... or Elimidate.

EVERY Idea and EVERY product has a target audience... the trick is FINDING your target audience. Then (and here's the tricky part) LET THEM KNOW YOU ARE THERE

Most of the people I see whineing about having no public exposure don't seem to get this simple yet universal fact: Club Owners and A&R people don't go door to door (or garage to garage) looking for talent. If you're not out there playing then you should be marketing yourself to some degree or another.

I felt the urge to post this after reading about a guy who, last year, made $180,000 selling people tips on how to win at certain video games.... I know it sounds rediculous, but people actually pay this guy for strategy tips. For video games!!!!!!!

OK here's a link where I found the info: PLEASE don't mistake this for some kind of spam as it points to a Internet Marketing site (Which it too in a sense is peddling comon sense info for insane prices) But here it is... scroll to the bottom and on the left is a testemonial about the guy in question Bert Ingley ...

http://www.marketingtips.com