Folders and panning

BriamJH

I'm a newbie doing my first mix. I have used folders with a couple of child tracks in the folder. I have panned the child tracks, one left and one right. However, when I listen to the folder track, the panning is centre. Is there a way to retain the panning when going from child to folder. Many thanks, Brian

Hi Brian.

You didn't tell us what DAW you're using, but I'm assuming you use REAPER because of the terminology you're using (Folders, child tracks, etc...).

Anyway, are there any effects on the "parent" track? If so, make sure there isn't a mono plug-in somewhere in the effects chain. This would make everything shrink to mono. If you're not sure whether there's a mono effect, bypass all effects (even on the child track just to be safe) and see if you can pan and get the result you want.

You should be getting the same panning and effects from the parent folder as you are from all the individual tracks. Here's a project that I have and all of the drum tracks are fed to the Drum Mix parent. The track has the same panning as if they were set as normal tracks. You can see the individual pan assignments on each child track. If I solo the parent, I just get drums. It's an easy way to do a quick tweak of the drum level without screwing up the balance of the kit.

The only thing that I did to the parent using it that way is to set the pan control to Stereo Pan and use the -3dB pan law. It also gives me the width control so that I can narrow the width of the drums if it sounds too wide.
drum Folder Track.jpg

BTW, There's a very simple way to see if the parent folder in Reaper is affecting the output. Simply click the folder icon of the parent which will disassociate the parent from the child tracks. Click again and it reassociates the tracks. Unless you have effects and panning changes on the parent, the two should be identical.

Simply click the folder icon of the parent which will disassociate the parent from the child tracks.