flat sounding

rockabilly

I am using Adobe Audition along with my M-Audio Firewire solo. I was just wondering why my music sounds "flat". Im recording using a shure sm57 and 58.

The mic records to only the left channel. I then copy and paste it to the other channel. Is there any way to make it just record to both?

I am just trying to figure out why the sound recorded sounds so "unlively". Am I not recording in stereo?

Also, when I mix down, and play the product say in my car, the quality comes out crappy. What are the best levels to have the song at? Is there anything special i should do?

Any knowledge? Im still learning at this stuff.

The reason it would sound flat is because you are panning exact copies of each other to left and right. That way its almost not stereo. Because you have the same thing coming out of each speaker, its virtually mono, but wider. Recording to both channels at once would have the same effect.

Try playing and recording the same thing twice...one for the left and one for the right. Gives it more life. That way its not an exact copy. You just need to play as tightly as you can. Obviously theres twice the recording to be done but its worth it.

would i want to do the same thing with vocals as well?

also, ive been reading about this panning stuff to make it sound more "wide".

ive been hearing about far left, far right, middle, high, low....

in the channels, would i want to put say, the left speaker guitar far left and the right speaker guitar far right?

Then I hear about vocals and drums being center. So would I not want to pan these and just leave them as is?

If you want to hear the songs im talking about,
go to my myspace page at http://www.myspace.com/orlandoriosmusic .

These are actually my first two recordings ever, done recently.

legionserial said:
That way its almost not stereo. Because you have the same thing coming out of each speaker, its virtually mono, but wider.