Fix My Mix :-P

firetech

I'm a real newbie to recording songs, mixing them, making it sound cool (err... decent at least), etc, etc. My style is normally just a mic on my Takamine and one for my voice but I started this song thinking I might try a really FX-heavy, industrial mix for fun. I called it quits at about 1/4 of the way through recording the song for several reasons that I'll explain below. What I was hoping you all could do for me is help me make this a learning experience so I can get better at this stuff before I try to lay down any real, full songs that I write (I really don't want recordings of my songs that sound like crap :P)

Download: Link

Overall, I'm not happy with it one bit. Firstly, I didn't realize until I started recording the vocals (last part I did) that the tempo is a good 10 BMP slower than I intended it to be. Secondly, I couldn't ever get my guitars to sound the way I really wanted them to, and the bass line sounded too horrible to even consider keeping at the time of the most recent mixdown. I was feeling uninspired and very discouraged by the time I did the vocals, so the singing isn't my best effort... though I did try to get them to fit in the mix as best as I could.

The drums are synthetic, the rest is just my guitar and my voice. I'm using some cheap "Electret Condencer" mic I found at Good Will for 7 dollar, and Apple's GarageBand software for my multi-track needs. I have a decent interface (M-Audio Delta 44) though! So I think I've got the materials I need to make a decent sounding recording...

Thanks so much for all your help. I love this board. Its amazing!

Last edited:
In case you wanted to see them written out, here are the lyrics to what's recorded:

You are
A Shining Star
You're the death of darkness
So beautifully dressed
Just to impress

Your Friends
They think I'm missing something of value
So perfectly true
What I don't give to you.

And Missing
Something I Call Greed. I might
Find you wouldn't see that