First Times a Charm

lee miran

I've been producing Hip Hop beatz for about 10 months. I've been roaming this paticular board for about the same amount of time. I am finally ready for some feedback from all you guys.

Here is my latest beat. It still needs some fine tuning in the arrangement (particularly at breakdowns). Tell me what you think. What do you like? What don't you like? What's missing? What can in do without?

Peep "Muted" at www.nowhereradio.com/leemiran/singles

Thanks!

New File Size

Yo,

For those who saw this message and did not download the song because of large file size, I re-upped the song faded out half-way and at a lower bitrate.

PEACE

You know what the piano chords in this remind me of?

Still D.R.E.

*starts singing*
I'm representing for them gangstas all across the world
Still hitting them corners in them low low's girl
Still taking my time to perfect the beat
And I still got love for the streets, it's the D-R-E

Yeah!

That's a great beat for 10 month old producer!!!

Great job man... Mixing is good.

One thing: Your snare needs more 'snap'... Boosting the higher frequencies of the snare - AND/OR - mixing it with another higher pitched snare would probably do the trick...

Keep bangin'!
Beathoven

Thanks!

Yeah, the more I listen to it the more I feel it needs a more "crackin" snare.

BTW, 10 months doing Hip Hop. Been doing House and other styles of dance music for a couple years.

Lee,

Listened to this earlier but the board wouldn't let me post. Anyhow, this track is tight for a newbie. Like the piano line, has a nice vibe and that flute-like instrument has a nice melody to it. Bass line reminds of an older track, but can't recall which. Your noise floor seems to be kind of high, I can hear it throughout the track. I agree on the snare issue, I'm having the same problem.

Nice work, keep it up.

Stray

stray411 said:
Lee,