First time posting in here, very limited equipment

mikeyhasnobones

"stop dropping my mics."
hi there!
so this is my first time posting in the mp3 mixing clinic. keep in mind i'm very sensitive and tend to cry easily :D

http://www.myspace.com/swahiliiiiis

this was recorded with very little equipment. a roland vs-880 ex and 3 cheap dynamic microphones. the instruments were recorded live and those aren't overdubs on the guitar, it's looping with a delay pedal :) my idea was to capture how we sound at a show which is our reasoning for that. there is one mic over my shoulder facing the kick drum, one mic on the snare and one on the guitar. any and all feedback is appreciated as i have already learned soooo much from you guys!
your friend
mikey

You mean the first song on there, right? Scatter?

First of all, MySpace's quality sucks, next time try uploading a good quality MP3 (192KBPS+) to http://www.lightningmp3.com. However, clicking the Download link lets me here a better quality copy.

With that said, the drums sound fine to me. I had to turn my volume down when the guitar first came in, kind of overbearing. I think it sounds like crap at first. Then it starts to sound cool, a little bit like "Are you experienced" by Hendrix. Or, at least it has that effect.

There's still a really high frequency overtone or something in there that makes my brain hurt.

If you were going for a live sound you did good on that. It sounds like you're playing live. A lot of places in the vocals do not sound good at all. 90% of the vocal parts sound like crap.

There is a lot of clipping. Especially on the vocals. It's pretty obvious when my speakers start distorting and you can hear real bad "fuzzy" bursts of crap coming out of them.

I hope this doesn't make you cry. :) It doesn't sound terrible. A lot of people will hate the guitar part probably. I actually like it. I would redo the vocals if possible.