first time. nervous.

tvaillan

As mentioned. It's my first time in this clinic. .. surely not the last however.

The song is called Winter Blues.

http://omega.honk.org/~tvaillan

I made this tune this morning. It's straight out of my multi track program. This tune was a 'one pass improv' thing. Gimme some feedback on the sound quality, guitar tone, drums and overall mix. I must admit, I've got knots in my stomach considrering the talent in this place . There's no vocals yet.

The bass had to be done with keyboards. I'm getting a bass soon.
Have a listen .. remember, the mp3 could be much better .. the start is weird. I just need some comments before the vocals are added.

Tristan.

Last edited:
thanks Bruce. fixed the Winter Blues link It worked for me though, I guess it's a browser thing.

Thanks again Bruce.

Tristan

Tristan,

Tasty. Nice guitar playing. I like the guitar tone too. How did you record the guitar? The drums seem a bit strange, a little too electric sounding, BUT its not a big deal because the guitar kept my attention. I'm about to listen to another tune.

I just listened to "Intro", excellent. Listening to "Yeteryear" now,
really good stuff bro, this recording sounds a little different but good tunes. I'm looking forward to hearing the rest later.

peace.

www.mp3.com/samicide

well i can rest now. i didn't get chewed out...yet. thanks for your feedback.

The guitar was recorded without an amp.

Straight from my ibanez into the Korg Toneworks AX1500G (it has a cabinet simulator) into the mixer. (Bass = 50%, Treble=50% and Mids = 60%) I used to have my mids way down .. but thanks to homerecording.com, i'm much wiser.

No effects or 'post processing' at all on Winter Blues.
The drums on Winter Blues are done with PropellerHead Reason. The drums on all the other tunes really suck. They where made with Cakewalk's Session Drummer.