first Keyboard controller.... How do you choose?

thepogopapers

I have chunk of old school studio experience.... and am setting up a home studio after many years of just playing.
I am looking for a keyboard controller. Other than guitar I have all soft instruments.
I use Garageband and will move to Logic eventually. I have some experience with early Reaper.
( I have not used a DAW in many years and am not looking forward to the re-learning curve...)
Garageband is just so easy to get basics down.

I have NI Komplete 9 for primary soft sound

Is there a go-to controller?
Should I lean towards the NI S-Series?

criteria by order of important

1. ease of use
2. integration with DAW and soft instruments
3 Price
4 size

Thoughts???

Thanks
TK

I'm not going to try to recommend a particular controller, since there are a lot of variables and personal preferences to consider, many of which can be loosely lumped under your least-important criteria (size):

- Number of keys? (88, 76, 61, 49, 37, 25, etc.)
- Shape of keys? (boxed piano-style or flat organ-style)
- Type of key action? (weighted, semi-weighted, non-weighted, etc.)
- Size of keys? (standard, mini, or micro)
- Type of aftertouch? (polyphonic, channel-only, or none)

Those factors alone can be the make-or-break considerations for a serious keyboardist-- and while they might not be as critical for the rest of us, making a few decisions about those criteria can be very helpful in narrowing down your choices.