First home recording with Shure SM58

blonic

Hello, I've just bougth an SM58 with the aim to record voice overs made by me (male, quite deep voice).
The mic has a XLR exit, and it came with a XLR to jack 6.3mm cable. To plug in it I bought a cheap jack reducer (6.3mm to 3.5mm), I did some tests and, well, quality sucks.
It cames the reasons are lack of preamplification, random sound card, and I guess the adapter added a lot of noise too.
So, after some researches I've found out the most logical answer to solve my problems is the Shure XLR-to-USB signal adapter that will provide both connection, preamplification, and cleaning of the sound as far as I understood.

Since it costs as much as the mic itself, and since I'm not a professional but I'm going to do this just for hobby, is that a good solution?
Is there anyone with similar backgrounds who can give my his testimony?

Thanks by advice.

Welcome blonic. :)

Your internal soundcard mic input does not have enough gain or quality of preamp to give you good results with an SM58.

I would give a solid no to purchasing the product. You will still be dealing with your internal soundcard which is not ideal at all for recording. Plus I have read some reviews that state that it is noisy on some systems. Better to start with a product that actually takes over the whole AD/DA conversion as well as preamp and phantom power in case you decide to use a condenser microphone in the future.

You would be much better off investing another $50 for a decent external interface. Steinberg UR22 comes to mind right off. I have 2 UR824's and the preamps are the same on all UR series interfaces. This will give you two inputs with clean preamps with enough gain to make the most of your 58.

+1 for a proper interface and not a USB adaptor. For what it's worth, the ¼" to 3.5mm adaptor adds no extra noise at all, and the mic is a known and trusted tool, so it's just your computer audio system - and most are pretty awful things really.