FireStudio Project or Saffire Pro 40 or _________?

Thisnameistaken

Hey everyone. I'm still new to this home recording fiasco, and still fairly unknowledgeable but especially so when it comes to interfaces. Here are the 2 i'm considering.

Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 | Sweetwater.com

PreSonus FireStudio Project | Sweetwater.com

Opinions as to which you think would be the better choice for me and why!

Here's my deal. I want to be able to make decent sounding recordings of my music, and some friends bands and stuff probably. Drums/guitars/vocals. I know I need an audio interface to plug mics and guitars into my computer. But I know they do so much more. I'm just not sure what. If someone can give me kind of a basic rundown that would be awesome!

I know you can get audio interfaces that have mixers and/or control surfaces and other things integrated. I'm just not sure if I need one that has all that. Should I just worry about the interface and worry about that other stuff once I get more comfortable with the gear I have or what?

Lastly

https://homerecording.com/bbs/equip...ace-800-focusrite-liquid-saffire-56-a-330389/

This post is talking about upgrading from a firestudio project to one of those higher end ones.

Basically, I have no idea what I want. If someone could explain to my why I would want an interface with its own mixer or one of the higher end 1000+ dollar ones as apposed to the 2 I listed, that would really help me come to a decision.

Any info helps! Thanks a bunch!

Hey,

You're right. You can get interfaces with mixers or control surfaces built in.
I reckon if you're not sure about needing that, then you don't need that.

My view on this is that it can be hard enough to get the room, the instrument, the performer and the gain right without introducing eqs and stuff like that.