File Exports In Cakewalk

TYRANT_26

i'm just starting out with cakewalk pro and i must say i love the program. but i have a problem. when i mix the final cut it sounds great but when i transfer it over to wave and burn it sounds diffrent the volumes are always lower then the org. and the effects are not as powerful. does anyone know how to fix this or is it just something u have to get used to and fix by ear

The exported wave should be pretty much an exact replica of the mix. If it is not, you are doing something wrong.

However, if you are speaking about burning it to a CD and playing it back on a different system (e.g, in your car), then the difference is more likely the result of the different playback system. If you are playing the wave on the same system that you are mixing on, it should be the same.

Let's not get hasty here.

I just had the MOST unusual experience yesterday.

I "mastered" a CD of a couple songs that another engineer mixed in Sonar. I was hanging out while it was being mixed. In "real time", the mix sounded wonderful.

When he "exported" the mix to a stereo wave file, 24 bit, and I opened it in Wavelab (same soundcard), the mix sounded VERY different. Things seemed a bit out of time and a sort of "hazy" sound was evident!!!

Me and Slackmaster are currently talking about this in chat while I write this. I am going to try a digital out to digital in "mix" and compare that to a "export wave file" mix in Sonar to see if there is in fact a difference in what you hear "real time" to what an "exported" track sounds like. I am VERY interested in this...

Ed