Field Trip Tomorrow!!!!!

Superreverb

Backstory: I've been a touring engineer for the past 20-plus years. Back in 2005 or so I got involved in helping out with live audio at the school my kids attend. Fast forward to today: Almost all of the audio gear in theater is mine and I'm heavily involved in sound design, production, and consulting for the school. We get a pretty nice break on tuition because of this and I've gotten to be good friends with the director of the theater.

Yesterday, I was talking to the school's TD, Ben, and he mentioned that one of the Dad's at the school builds audio consoles. My ears perked up. Turns out that there is a field trip tomorrow to go visit the shop where these consoles and other assorted gear are built. My Son is going on the trip. This morning, I visited Ben at the theater and basically told him I was crashing the trip. I then asked which company the trip host was president of. Turns out that it is Larry Droppa of API! They're located in a town called Jessup, which is only about 15-miles from the school! YES!!!!

I will bring a camera with me and, if I'm allowed, will take plenty of pics, and provide an after-action report for those who are interested.

Got to admit, I'm kinda giddy!!!! This is like a car enthusiast getting a tour of the plant by Carroll Shelby, himself.

Wonder is they have any B-stock they'd unload for cheap...... ;)

I just got home from the trip to API! Amazing place and an amazing group of folks!!! AAR and pics to follow in a bit. Gotta eat some lunch and process the pictures. Larry Droppa gave us the guided tour. We got to see some interesting stuff (some of it is historic) and meet quite a few of the staff. It's a small company, only about 30 employees, but the pride and dedication that they put into their work is evident and inspiring. At the end of the visit, the students got to try their hand at mixing on a gorgeous API 1608 and get some hands-on experience with the gear that they watched being built.