feedback on some tunes

oz_fenda

G'day,
My name's matt im 17 just finished school and havn't posted in this forum before, basically because i've never really mixed or recorded anything for more than abit of fun....
anyways, i'm trying to put together a semi-descent demo EP of my own stuff, and would love to hear some feedback on two songs entitled "stop your pain" and "blind love" which are on my myspace page www.myspace.com/mattburke5

any feedback would be much appreciated (please feel free to be ruthless i'm kinda new at trying to make things sound good rather than just sound audible :))
I think i kinda may have over compressed 'stop your pain' and or/ recorded it too hot....or not hot enough :S
Anyways thankyou so much in advance,
cheers,
matt
PS: feel free to be critical of all elements eg. the arrangement of the song, performance etc...and all suggestions welcome :) thankyou!

Want a manager?
I can see some fantastic potential here, but what a mixed bag!
First of all, you've got the most important requirement - a voice. Sounds better on Blind Love (STP starts out of tune), though BL cries out for the harmonies you use to good effect on STP. BL needs the chorus bringing out - at the moment it's a bit of a dirge, whereas the STP chorus is strong and could be even stronger - it's a good hook lyrically and melodically.
As to the arrangements, you seem to have just messed around and tried different things in an unsystematic way. The strumming on STP just isn't good enough - needs professionalising. The ambient sounds at the start of BL are interesting but don't quite work, unlike that backwards guitar sound which chimes in nicely. Is that a drum in the background? If you're going to use a beat I'd experiment till you come up with something interesting which really adds to the song.
As to the mix - voice sounds good to me at least. Guitar too loud on STP and not a great sound - what are you using?