• FAT 32

Votes: 5 55.6%
  • NTFS

Votes: 2 22.2%
  • Doesn't make any difference

Votes: 2 22.2%

• Total voters

Mealz

I'm wondering which filesystem is the best to run for audio?

I seem to get the impression that fat32 has better performance

What do you think?

Any apps work better with one while otherrs perform better with the other f/s?

Fat32 is supposed to perform better, but I've used both and I haven't noticed much difference. Apps don't care a bit what file system they are running on. If you're running an NT OS, it's a better idea to have NTFS on that partition.

First of all, if you are using Win9x, you have no choice but to use FAT32.

Secondly, FAT32 only supports partitions up to 32Gb in size.

I have been using NTFS for the last 3 years and it works just fine, if not better than FAT32.

My machine came formatted with NTFS. I re-did it in FAT32 and man,. there was a big difference in startup and file copies.

braz...
i have a 60 gig on my machine running fat. formatted with a win98 startup floppy disk (with my cd rom drivers) popped in the win2k cd. no prob.

Don't sweat this issue to much. If you can do NTFS, then do NTFS. It's slightly slower (roughtly 1MB/sec slower in the tests I've run), but it's still plenty fast. It's more recoverable than FAT, and the added security can certainly come in handy depending on what all you use your machine for.

Slackmaster 2000

eyeslikefire said:
My machine came formatted with NTFS. I re-did it in FAT32 and man,. there was a big difference in startup and file copies.

What was the difference? Faster, slower?

On my computer, CPU speed is far more a limiting factor than disk access, especially if a I have a couple of reverb plugins running, and I have a pretty fast CPU (1.4 Ghz). So, I can't see a slight change in file transfer speed making too much difference for me in practical terms.

eyeslikefire said:

braz...