extreme basics of home recording

Geeman

I'm a total amateur to the world of home recording. I'm anxious to learn about it to help me to fine tune my songwriting (electric guitar, acoustic guitar, vocals, piano) As I'm in a band I'd like to be able to write/record the rythym and lead guitar for our songs, the vocals and bass independently. Would I be able to do this with a basic 4 track recorder, like the tascam 02 portastudio, and if not what equipment would I need. I'm a student and probably wouldn't be able to afford expensive digital recorders. Any suggestions?

Hi Geeman, welcome!

Yes, the TASCAM 02 can do this, although it is a bare bones machine. Basically, look at it this way: with a 4 track you can record 4 seperate audio tracks at different times. I will just give you a "for example" On trk 1, you can lay down a drum track. Then you can go back and record a guitar track on track 2 while listening to the drums on track 1. When that is done, you can go to track 3 and record another instrument while you listen and play along with tracks 1 & 2. Then you can grab a mic and sing the vocal track on track 4 while listening to the music on tracks 1, 2 & 3 simultainiously.

Now, if you need more tracks, don't despair! There are little techniques that you can use like "ping ponging" that will degrade the sound a little, but will give you more tracks for recording. But it's a little too soon to go into that. IF you are as new to this as you said, you may need to chew on the info above for a little bit first. But to answer your question, yes, a 4 track will work.

Also, you can use your computer as a multi track recorder, but I will let someone else tell you about that because I have never used my computer that way. Other guys around here will probably chime in on this one...

Good luck, and I hope this helped!

Brad