equipment to start with

dawgtree

Hello all

I'm new to this site. I am hoping to get input on what equipment I need to start off with for a small home studio.

I'm wanting to start off with the minimal cost, simply becuase I am new to this and want to start off small before I work my way on to bigger sound.

I would like to start off with a digital recorder, but am thinking maybe I should go 4-track. Please share your ideas with me in my hopes of helping me set up a small home studio.

A list of equipment, etc.. would be greatly helpful. THanks for your help!

This is a great site, wished I would have found it sooner.

This is not too expensive and reportedly very easy to learn. This would be a step up, and this would do if you're on a very tight budget.

This is the microphone you should probably get.

And welcome to the board!

Go to Fasoft.com download the demo of N-track. Get familiar with it.... ask all of the 1 000 000 questions that you will have once you have a basic idea of how it works.

Simon

Ditto on the n-track approach. It lets you use you present computer to get started with, and even the standard gamer sound card will work for a while until you get frustrated with it. So that leaves mics and preamps. Depending on what you want, those options will be all over the landscape. But what I did was use a small mixer - say, a Yamaha MG series mixer (I did the mackie thing) - and stereo outs to the sound card direct inputs (avoid the sound card micorphone imputs as the preamps are poor). Signal to the Yamaha can be a direct guitar, a dynamic or a condenser mic. I used Musicans Friend cloth covered cables until I started to build my own, which most people will suggest is preferable.