EQ me...

cbsc

Hey gang,

I am new to EQ/mixing/mastering and was wondering about your approach:

If one uses the same EQ settings on all the tracks, will that help make it sound as though all the instruments are playing in the same room/spaceand mix or sound better? ( I can only record one track at a time)

Or, instead, does one EQ each track individually to get the best sound by itself and then later do a general EQ during mastering?

I think the later is probably the answer to my question, and it probably depends a lot on the application, but I would enjoy hearing others' perspectives, experiences, and approaches on the subject.

Thanks, Chad

I'd keep the same sounds when recording, make presets of used EQ:s and use those at every song. If the guitarsounds drums etc. are the same, same eq should apply with minimum tweaking at mixing.
That said, more of the same can be done in the mastering stage.

I wouldn't advise using the same EQ setting on every track, It won't really work. Different instruments need different treatment, some might not need any at all. Listen to your entire mix with no EQ, and decide what needs what. Perhaps the guitars have too much low end, so deal with that, perhaps the hi hat has too much high end, so EQ that. Those are just basic examples really, but as I say, some tracks may not need EQing at all.

Don't fall into the trap of EQing each track soloed. It may sound all well and good on it's own, but how is it going to sound in the mix?