Dynamic Range es muy importante

BluMusic

Ok so that was the sum total of my Spanish for today but the point is this. I Log onto many different Websites for the purpose of understanding more & more about Home Recording. I enjoy reading but I often find it hard to follow many articles that communicate to me as if I possessed a Masters' Degree in Audio Engineering.

I recently went to Barnes & Noble to check out their Music Section for books on Recording. Why? Well simply coming here and hoping the Members will educate me on how to get that better Mix is cheating in my estimation of things. Many of you have obviously spent a fair amount of time learning what I aspire to learn and I don't feel it wise to simply think, I can just come here and get you to do the work for me.

As I've stated, I'm a Musician with a modest budget for my musical projects. My goal is to set some of my music to CD, where it sounds pleasing with no excuses about the overall sound quality. When I place my CD in the Car Stereo or Home Stereo System, I try to listen to it with all EQ adjustments dead center.

So I found this information the other day that actually sparked some understanding about what I'm trying to do. It's regarding Dynamic Range, how it applies to music and how to manipulate it. In reading this, it was very easy to follow so I thought, for anyone like myself who is sticking their feet in the water of Recording such as I, you might find this as important as I.

Understanding Dynamic Range

We often hear words like Compression, Limiting, Spectrum Analyzer, EQing, etc. and we think we know what it is and how to utilize it but for most, I've found you couldn't be more wrong about that. Even Reverb is only good when used correctly. You could have the best Reverb setting but apply way too much. The interesting thing about reverb is, a little goes a long way.

In one Article, the Writer said, "The use of reverb should be only to cut a little of the edge off the music not blanket it".