Dumping recorded music from a cd player to tracks

Jer-Bear

Hi All,

I'm probably asking a dumb question, and I'm probably missing something very basic, but here it is: How do I put the right and left outs from my cd player to my 2488(to two tracks) and get them to come through to the monitor source. I am very new to digital recording and would really appreciate any help I can get.

Thanks Jer-Bear

PS. There will be plenty more dumb questions to come, please excuse my ignorance.

You can do this in one of two ways. The first is to simply plug a cable into the headphone jack of the CD player and plug the other end into the inputs on the 2488. You can do this with a cable like this, which takes the stereo 1/8" mini output and splits it to 2 mono 1/4" male plugs, which you can plug in to two of the line inputs on the 2488:

Amazon.com: Hosa CMP153 Y Cable 1/8 Inch TRS to Dual 1/4 Inch TS Cable - 3 Foot: Musical Instruments

You can also rip the CD audio to your PC as wav files, burn the audio files to a disc as data files and import them into a song in the 2488. I've never done it this way, so I don't know what wav format specs you need to set it at (16-bit/24-bit, 44kHz/48/etc)

Depending on you CD player, you could also go L&R RCA out to L&R 1/4" ins on your 2488 (need RCA to 1/4" cables, obviously). Make sure to record ready your tracks on the 2488 in order to see/set levels. Keep in mind RCA outs are unbalanced - hopefully won't be too much of an issue if the CD levels are decent. Good luck!

Thanks Cusebassman and Mr June,

I will give these all a try and hopefully I can find at least one way that works.

Thanks again

Jer-Bear

Good call, June. Just for additional assurance, I've run unbalanced 1/4" male TS Plugs into the balanced 1/4" inputs on the 2488 neo before and it works just fine.