Dumb tuning question

Dolemite

OK, well, keep in mind that I'm just learning to play guitar (slowly) and I'm no musical genius either...

Anyway, I'm trying to tune my guitar to:

C#-F#-B#-E#-G#-C#

Using my J-Station's built-in tuner (not the best I know) I can't seem to get the E# tuned at all. The J-Station seems to be able to "read" (if that makes any sense) all the flats except Fb. What I mean is that it will show all the flat notes I need on the little LED display except Fb. I just tried to tune as close in between E and F as I could. It didn't work too well. ;)

I'm sure there's some trick to get this tuned right, so help a brotha out!

Thanks!

yada yada yada...

Think it's time for you to get some music-theory background.

Here is the scale of C:

C D E-F G A B-C

Now you see there are 2 -s in it. Here's why: the scale exists of half and whole tones. There's only half a tone between E-F and B-C. The rest is whole tones.
Which means:
E# is F
Fb is E
B# is C
Cb is B

There some more remarks to make about this, but with just this, you should do fine.

So if you put all the half tones after eachother (chromatic scale), you get:
C C# D D# E F F# G G# A A# B C
No E# in here, cause that is F... Same for B# which is C...

Same with flats:
C Db D Eb E F Gb G Ab A Bb B C

Another point... I hope like hell you are tuning downwards instead of up...

Guitar necks are designed to handle the string tension with the guitar tuned at concert pitch A440 - where the 5th string (A) is tuned at 440Hz....

You risk straining the neck considerably if you tune higher than that....

So -- you can do this - just make sure you are tuning your low E (6th string) DOWN to C# and not up!

Bruce

And to add to bruces comment: if you're tuning it that much lower, you should also consider getting heavier strings. A too low tension will not give a good tone, and your strings will rattle against the frets.