Drum Recording

laststartoshine

Hello everyone, i would like to first start off by saying that while i am new to these boards in terms of posting, i've been reading off and on for a few years, even more so these past couple of months.

My band is planning on demoing very soon, now, i understand the ideal would be to multitrack the drums, but unfortunately financial resources (at this time) are only allowing for a stereo mix, so i have to use my mixer to mix drums down in advance. I use Sonar, and will be layering in all the other parts later, I was wondering if anyone has any experience with this, and how do you try to mix the drums in advance, so they sit better in the mix later on?

I have been messing around with recording for a long time, and i have a lot of experience with live sound, and plan on opening a studio very soon...i just need to prove i can get some business, and in fact that is a partial reason for these demos, so i can say

"SEE!!!! LOOK WHAT I CAN DO WITH CRAPPY GEAR... do you want to record with me at a professional studio when it's built?"

i've recorded this way before, and it seems like no matter how i mix the set, something always seems off in the final mix. ie. Kick was too quiet, rerecorded and over compensated, kick too loud...(etc)

OH also, idk how much this matters, but i plan on micing the 2 toms and snare with 57s, the kick with an audio technica ATM25, and for overheads, several large diaphragm condenser mics (once again, this is what's available for no $$$)

any recommendations? thanks for any and all opinions.

Josh--- new kid on the block

Are you recording the drums from the start as a stereo track, or recording them on multiple tracks, and then sending a stereo mix of them to someone else to do their overdubs?