Drum Positioning

Cody Suit

likes Fast/Heavy music
Soooo i've been drumming for 14 years now on and off and i just realized that my drum teacher way back when i started never taught me proper positioning of my drums. i see alot of drummers in the same genre with their snares flat. i have my kit really low.

im just wondering if i could get more out of playing by maybe raising my drums a bit or moving closer or angling them different. so that i can still play the same hard stuff but maybe use less energy to do it. i remember seeing a video on youtube but i never watched it.

would anyone have any links or anything?

ps. im gonna do a forum search right after i post this cuz i forgot.

thanks

Well... I don't think there is a "best" way to set them up.

Do what's comfortable for you. Move 'em around and see if you like something else better.

I wouldn't be surprised if they end up close to the way you have them now. If you've been playing that way for 14 years your body will naturally play better that way.

-C

The best advice I can give is to mess around with your set up. If you're comfortable with your set up now, leave it like that. The reason your teacher never taught you the "right" way is because everyone's is different. It's like recording, do what feels/ sounds right to you. I hope that makes you a bit more comfortable.

One thing i do when i change my setup every once in a while is I grab my drumsticks, close my eyes and try to hit the drum where my arm is more confortable to do so. I open my eyes, and I adjust accordingly.

You'd be surprised how effective it can be.

I recently played a show with another band whos drummer sets everything flat. And I mean flat parallel with the floor. This cat might as well have used a freaking level to set his shit up. Every cymbal, tom, snare, etc was flat. But the dude rocks. I could never play that way, but it worked for him. I personally like everything angled towards me. Just do whats comfortable and what works.