Doubling/Quadrupling tracks

ryan_c57

Hey all,

I'm fairly new to this forum. I've been playing the guitar for almost five years now. For about two years now, I've been experimenting with digital recording on my computer, recording a nice riff now and then. A couple of months ago, I joined one of the local bands as rhythm guitarist. We're looking to record some of our material with my computer.

While experimenting with my own riffs, I'v been using Apple's GarageBand 2. I know it's not nearly as sophisticated as Pro Tools or Logic (or *insert yet another sequencing program*). But that'll have to do for now, my budget is low. For the guitar parts, I use Native Instruments' GuitarRig.

When it comes to mastering a song, I'm a complete newbie. I have no knowledge about any must-knows of the business. I guess I'm just really a trial-and-error kind of guy.

I've watched Metallica's Some Kind of Monster movie recently, and in one scene, James or Lars (either one of the band's two master minds) suggests "quadrupling" the guitar track(s). What is the effect of "quadrupling"? I've tried it out, duplicated my guitar track in GarageBand, but other than my guitar track getting a lot louder, I don't notice any difference. Maybe my ears aren't attuned to what the effect's supposed to be? Or maybe making the track louder IS the desired effect?

Thinking about it, I kinda assumed my guitar sound would get fatter. But frankly, I have no idea. Can anybody please help a newbie out?

Thanks.

When they say that, they are implying that you would actually perform the guitar part multiple times, not just duplicate the single performance. For alot of guitar sounds that will really fatten it up. It helps to use different tones each time you double a track too.

you can also cheat too, ... copy your guitar track to a new track and offset it by just a little bit ( i last offset one by .003 ) .