Does anyone know how to get a trashy sound

tuck

Hey,
Im getting ready to have a recording session at my house and i want my recordings to sound somewhat like The White Stripes first album "White Stripes". Quite a few people have been suprised at me for saying this because im going analog even though i have acess to a digitial recorder but i dont what to. Im recording with a 14 cahnnel Mackie mixer to a 1/4 Stellavox reel to reel then to a Tascam 414 four track. Im getting quite a few mic.s or some im planning on mostly drums mics and overheads. im recording all at once in the same room. The room is pretty big and i want it like that but what i want to know is how to natualy make the recordings sound trashy. Thanks
Tuck

You want to know how to get a recording to sound trashy?

That's probably the easiest thing in the world to do--just have your girlfriend engineer the session. :)

Wow, I used to be an expert at making trashy recordings, but I can't tell how I did because I didn't know what I was doing.

feedback, room ambience

don't clean it up

compress the shit out of everything

that's my guess, but could be way off

Make the levels peak just that tiny bit and then compress. YEAH lots of compression. If you have an outboard vintage compressor use that.
OR use bad microphones and record normally. Use microphones that cost around £15!! This will give you a nice dirty signal that is in no way going to end up as an over produced track! Im pretty sure that you have to use tape for the sound you are looking for and to get that natural compression. It will just sound too sharp with digital you know.

Come on guys, it wasn't that long ago that we all sucked, was it?

The key to a trashy sound is cymbals. Specifically, bad sounding ones. Get cheaper cymbals. Cracked cymbals are wonderful.

Next, close mic the cymbals, like just enough so the cymbals don't hit the mics. Use stereo overheads too close together so you have phase problems.