Does anyone else suffer from perfectionism?

DAS19

I havent recorded any of my music for about 2 or 3 years. I play probably every night and every night I go to sleep thinking about my songs. I am afraid of recording my songs for fear of them not being the best that they can be. I want to be able to bring to life what I hear in my head but that can be hard to do especially when I am not the most expierenced audio engineer. I am currently in my second year of college minoring in audio recording technology and record bands constantly. I find it much easier to record other peoples music.

Does anyone else have a similar problem? Any words of wisdom to get my out of this. I really need to just bite my tongue or maybe push the button is a better analogy.

About 3-4 of my homies rap and one of them always takes hours and hours to write and record his shit and if he can't get it "just right" he says its going to be perfect or nothing at all and he will quit. At this point he has about 2 songs and everyone else has dozens. So he gets more and more obsessed with perfection and ends up losing focus on what he's actually trying to do, which is make good music. No matter how good of equipment you have you can't get better without practice and experience.

Just record some shit and go with the flow. If you don't like how something sounds, rewrite it, tweak it a bit, do what you gotta do. I bet all of your tracks that you thought were awful, other people would be interested in. Use the songs as motivation, inspiration and as reflection of to the improvements you will make along the way.

make it happen