do you think that this idea result in a drum track?

astoebe

So...I'm starting a new project, and in this project I would like to create a drum track for each song that fits the groove of the individual song. I would like to use these instead of a metronome, and possibly keep them at the end to fill in the real drum tracks. I know that alot of producers do this, and I've also heard some bands playing with tracks like this live lately (so that's why I want to try it).

I have been reading around here for a few days about drum tracks and keep seeing things like Reason, which I would love to use, but sadly I'm a poor college student (I know you've heard this one before around here).

So here's my idea...I can get a free VST sampler from kvraudio and download the free .wav files for ns_kit or possibly even buy the full version of ns_kit. Then, I could play a few measures of a beat on my MIDI controller through the VST sampler, and then record that beat as audio back into cubase. Then just some copying and pasting and I'd have a beat right? Then I could add effects to it and all that stuff.

So what I need is someone to tell me that this is going to work before I spend a ton of time on it and realize that it sucks. Also, if you have any other budget ideas, feel free to suggest them. Thanks for any help you can give!!!

In case it makes a difference to your answer, I will be using

Pentium 4 - 1.5 gb ram
2 x Delta 44's
Cubase SE
Alesis QS8 for a MIDI controller
-i'm not sure what MIDI interface yet-