Do I need an external analogue mixer like the pro's ?

Aly

Hello everyone..

I know I'm still a newbie here, if you look at the post count. Thruth is, I've been active for about 5 years now, doing not a bad job in recording demo stuff for friends and bands who actually pay for them.

I learned a lot by reading here, reading here again and again, and of course by trying. I never went to a single course in audio engineering or whatsoever, so, I guess like most of you, I learned the most important stuff from the masters here.

But now I got a serious question, and I'm kinda stuck.

Up till now, I record everything direct into the pc. I got two Hoontech (StAudio nowadays) ADC DAC 2000 C-ports and this gives me 16 inputs (32 bit) simultaneously, direct to hard disc that is.
Drums are done via dynamic mikes (Dedicated shure drum mikes),
bass goes in direct and then via tube preamp,
so do the guitars and the vocals. I got those ART tube preamps (rack mounted one) and a few nice tube microphones (ADK TC 51 C, AKG solidtube,...)
Vocals go in same way via Solidtube..
Microphones and preamps are not the issue...

So now, everything records well and at the end of the session I got about 20 tracks or less (depending on how many overdubs a band needs)
We get to the mixing stage. And here is where trouble comes in.

When I mix it's quite ok, but it's never superb ! I now sonusman and son of mixerman talked about it years ago, and I agree to ther point of "pc recording still not as good as analogue tape etc". It's got to do with truncating of those 0's and 1's in the digital world, and the fact that when you use effects on your mix, it actually degrades the overall quality.
I use effects, like compression and delay and reverb (whatever the mix needs) and I fully agree that the mix suffers from this. A clean mix where you do nothing sometimes sounds better than a mix with tons of ecffects (so to speak)