Digital Editing or playing perfect?

HomeNoiseRecord

Which do you guys do or prefer to use most often?
Although my DAW skills dont yet let me to cut out bum notes and fix tiny problems with my songs (i use it mainly to mix) i understand its possible occasionally.
Or do you prefer to record over and over again until its perfect?

Just wonderin'

....and then there's somewhere in between.

How about playing as well as you can and punching in occasionally. I'm all for perfect first takes and all that. But realistically, I'm not going to scrap an otherwise good performance if there are a few little parts that simply need to be punched in and played better (or differently).

For me, desireable to get the part right when tracking. Most of the time, that doesn't happen because I'm not a good musician. I edit a lot. what's funny about me is I'll practice a part until I can run through it 3 or 4 times with no flubs. As soon as I hit record I will make a mistake.

Editing is pretty easy once you learn the little shortcuts and tricks in your DAW.

Yes to this:

I'm not going to scrap an otherwise good performance if there are a few little parts that simply need to be punched in and played better (or differently).

And this is not unique to Chili:

What's funny about me is I'll practice a part until I can run through it 3 or 4 times with no flubs. As soon as I hit record I will make a mistake.

Red Light Fever strikes yet again!!

The other thought is to learn to live with your imperfections. You are what you are, and there's nothing wrong with your reordings reflecting that.

Although my DAW skills dont yet let me to cut out bum notes and fix tiny problems with my songs (i use it mainly to mix) i understand its possible occasionally.

Just wonderin'

I see it as a time vs talent issue.

I'm not a professional guitarist, but I've been playing fo 20 years. When I want to record something, I can either learn and practice the part, then record it as the perfect final result.