Did I Make a Mistake?

Macpb

Hey folks..
Well, I know it's a little late to be asking this, but I'm going to anyway. I headed over to Sam Ash and told the guy I'm new to recording, "what do I need?"

So, he directed me towards a Tacsom USB based analog to digi converter, which I bought. (The 122, or 112 version)

Then, when it came to mics, I wasn't so sure. He talked me into a Samson C01 Large Diaphram Mic, for vocals and guitar. It was 70 bucks, and seemed like a nice deal. I asked him maybe 5 times is the SM57 wasn't better, since I play a great deal of other instruments, but he said no, since it wasn't good for vocals.

So, my question is, should I buy a SM57 or even a 58? Since the Tascom and Mic are under layaway, I can always just return it on the spot for a different mic.

I'll be recording Trumpet, Sax, Horn, Trombone, Guitar, Bass, and a whole pile of things. But, I'd like to do some decent vocals as well, and I just dont have the money for two microphones now.

Thank you for your time, I apologize if I'm being vague at all.

Look, you may have done a little better by doing some research first, but you'll do just fine with what you bought. Experiment a lot and learn how changing the settings affects your music; twist knobs, and move the mic around till you hear something you like.

Yeah, there's probably better stuff around for the same price, but it's not gonna sound THAT much better. Go with it and learn how to get the best out of it. Once you're to the point where you understand the mic's limitations, you'll have overcome your own limitations about understanding what you're hearing.

Above all, have fun with it. That's what recording should be all about.

Yeah man, my friend bought a bloomin Behringer B1 by the advice of a salesman, but hey, regardless of the fact its meant to be awful, I got some pretty decent sounding vocals out of it.