Delta1010 & PA9 - Good combination?

MrKwik

**will man ho for gear**
I'v been dragging my feet about buying a decent sound card, mainly because I don't really have enough experience to know what I need. I think I have played around long enough to find where I'm lacking but I have a couple of questions for anybody that is using the M-Audio Delta 1010LT. I have pretty well decided on this card because it seems to have the most inputs in its price range & I have not really heard anything bad about it.

Thing is that I don't really understand how the inputs are layed out on this card. It says 10 in/10 out and 8 analog in/out with 2 xlr inputs. So does it have the 2 XLR and then 6 RCA inputs or does it have 8 RCA plus the 2 XLR? I'm a drummer and my main goal is to be able to lay down 8 seperate tracks at once. I have a Behringer MX2004A mixer with 4 output busses that I want to use 4 inputs and then I have 4 outs on my Alesis D4 module that I would also like seperate tracks for. Now if the card has 6 regular inputs and 2 xlr, is there any reason I cant use the balanced outputs on my mixers main bus to hook to those and the the remaining 6 analog inputs for mixer bus 3/4 and the drum module outputs?

And lastly...I am using Cakewalk PA9 on a Windows 98 machine. Are there any issues with this setup that would make this card a bad choice for this setup? And will my not-so-modern PC fall on its face trying to do 8 tracks at once? Right now my main issues (besides 2 inputs) is that I get alot of popping in the tracks, and when I monitor a track and then lay down another track, there is about a 1/2 second delay in the original track and the new track when I play it back. I'm assuming this is an issue with my soundcard (actually onboard sound on the MB), please correct me if I'm wrong.

Thanks in advance for any help

PC Specs:
-VIA 650mhz C3 processor
-256 meg of ram
-120gig WD 7200 RPM HD w/8meg cache
-Windows 98se
-Cakewalk Pro-Audio 9.3

Howyadoin,