Delta 1010

smallhands

Im looking to buy an audio interface. I have no knowledge about them except that someone told me to buy a delta 1010. I would appreciate any feedback on the topic and on whether to go with a USB system or a PCI system.

I think you should go with you dont have enough information :D
some simple questions to ask yer self

what are you trying to do?
how many inputs do you need?
is quality important?
do you have anything else you need as well?
can buying what you need in a "package" save you money?
are you set on a specif software for said interface?
are you runing mac or pc etc etc etc

Personal opinion to follow:

I just got myself a 1010 from a fellow homerecording.com member. It hasn't shipped yet, but I did quite a bit of studying in regards to which unit I should get. I have a Delta 1010LT right now: it delivers much of the same universal connectivity, high fidelity and seamless performance as the popular Delta 1010 on a single PCI card—and at a fraction of the price. Multiple analog I/O, MIDI, S/PDIF and surround sound support are all there.

Two inputs even have mic/line preamps on XLR connectors, saving the expense of outboard preamps. It’s all on a compact, half-size PCI card with two color-coded breakout cables. Combine up to four Deltas in your system for a maximum of 32 analog and four stereo S/PDIF inputs and outputs.

I would not recommend the 1010LT if you dont want to have a mess of wires hanging off the back of your computer tower. Also, unless you have a patch bay/outboard mixer, you are going to be unplugging and plugging in from the back of the comp, which gets annoying fast.

1010: As a samplist, the delta 1010 is a great choice as it works at any sample rate, including the odd rates like 36khz, 29 khz and 39.11 khz or whatever. You can take it up to 24bit 96khz if you want.