DeeExpus - Take me Out - Comments?

DeeExpus

and for my NEXT mix ... !
My ears are battered, could really do with a fresh set?

Greetings one and all, its been a long time since ive done anything other than dissappear up me own arse with stuff ive been working on for the last 5 years!! Anyway, regardless, I have finished with all that and managed to cobble this together in the last 3 weeks (something of a record for me (pun intended!)).

Dabbled in a bit of mastering too!! its awful i know, but hey at least i try eh? Mastered in Soundforge without a clue - lol.

Anyway, as Always, grateful for any comments. You may find the track here:

Thank you and good night!

Dee

actually, since this origional post, I have spent a good 8 hours remixing (the fresh(!!!) mp3 is in place of the stale). The mix sounded perfect (pfff!) on my monitors until i slapped it into other realms (PC, HI-FI, Car etc etc.) I could really do with some help on this if anyones remotely interested. Appreciate any comments, but more specifically on the mix and the post mix compression etc etc. I remain at your mercy!

Merci!

Last edited:
Fun Song

Dee:

Fun tune. Music is solid; vocals very good, nicely on key throughout. Good balance in the mix. I'm listening on headphones, watching "The X-Files." Catchy chorus. Reminds me a little of Squeeze stuff. Nice instrumental break and guitar solo before the final chorus. For some reason, I don't like the guitar tone on that solo. I don't know, perhaps sounds too "eighties-ish," if that makes any sense at all -- not sure. Don't get me wrong. It still sounds very good, and works well within the overall arrangement. As far as the mix, my only recommendation: bring up the drums. Are they programmed? Often, in my own stuff, if I've used a drum machine, I have a hard time turning up the drum track, because I dislike the cymbals. However, I find it's a necessary evil in order to craft a more contemporary sounding mix.

I like this song. Really nice job!

Kevin