Decent audio interface with Midi in/out. Presonus problem.

Pressuridion

DJ, Producer, Raver since the late 90s
Hello everyone.
I recently bought a second hand presonus Audiobox 96 for recording with synths and also using Midi in/out for sync etc with Ableton. When I started playing tho I faced some problems with distortion and peaking, even that the input levels were below middle. Also stereo panning delay effect were lost as mono when the input volume increased. I thought i did something wrong connecting the mixer with the audio interface. Maybe I do. Or that the second hand presonus was faulty. But when I did a better research on YouTube (I wish I had done that before buying this interface) I found a guy reviewing this presonus, saying that it can't record audio straight in line, that the manufacturers don't recommend it and that it needs a di box. Also the sound has noise issues.
So I need help and recommendations for a decent audio interface with Midi in/out (must) around 100€. Also, does the later presonus Audiobox 96 (black box) or the iTwo have the same issue?
Thank you in advance

You could buy used - get a UA Volt - or get a Behringer U-PHORIA UMC204HD new at $120 - they are really good - I favor the UA Volt because of the pedigree - but I know plenty of people using the Behringer with good results - as for the later Presonus - I have no idea - I don't like Presonus products - they always have some fault or difficult workflow.

Last edited: