Dealing with stubborn musicians

FromtheSOUTH

We've all been there.

Now, I'm a musician myself, but I consider myself to be open minded, I can take criticism and enjoy trying new things.

But, certain members of my band (I won't use names, but there are only 2 of them;)) are just the most stubborn, set-in-their way jockstraps I know.

For example, we were attempting to track a song the other day, just me and the drummer, and I suggested that he plays this particular song with a closed hi-hat instead of open. (Live, the open hat is fine, but recorded it was just plain annoying and loud, and the rest of the kit was lacking because of it)

Well, I just get a death stare and an earful - "You're not the drummer, you're the bass player, I don't write your parts, yadda yadda..."

We argued for a while, I suggested that we record a separate open hat track at low levels, and a couple other reasonable compromises, but I finally gave up.

This is just one example of many.... and don't get me wrong, I love these dudes. We're practically married, and maybe that's part of the problem... But how do you guys deal with this?

Someone in the band needs to take on the role of the producer/engineer....and that should be someone who understands the differences between playing live VS recording in a studio.
That member should not be a production NAZI...but, members who don't understand recording subtleties/needs should agree to defer to him when there are stalemates about what to do.

If you have too much democracy...."art by vote".... in a creative environment, it's not always a good thing.
Someone has to lead the vision of the production. The whole band can/should discuss the overal, general vision before it is put into play, but little differences of opinon should not turn into battles, and that's where the "producer" has to make the call.