d112 vs. beta 52

worldeater

if anyone could offer some advice i would be most appreciative.

here's the situation. my partner in recording, and i have an upcoming project (his band). i have a beta 52 for the bass drum, and a bunch on sennheiser e604's for the toms. i am not a pro engineer and these tend to be the weakest links of the recordings. it could very well be the drums and my lack of experience but mic's do play a role in the sound as well so...

he is thinking of buying a mic package for around $500.00 that comes with a d112 and 4 akg c418's.

the beta 52 vs. d112 seems to be a chevy/ford type dispute. i have not really heard anything about the c418's though. or how they compare to the e604's. or if there are any other alternatives for at least micing the toms within the same price range that may work better.

thank you in advance for any advice.

Admittedly the mics you are considering will have a somewwhat different sound than the ones you own. But whether they will result in a quantitative leap in your drum sound is doubtful. If you are unhappy with your drum sounds now, chances are it is more due to deficiencies in your technique than to the actual mics.

My suggestion (before throwing money at a "magic bullet") is to take some serious time and play with mic positioning. Try some different overhead and room mic'ing techniques - those tracks often comprise a higher percentage of your total drum sound than the close mics. Work on your compression technique as well. Many a wimpy sounding track can be transformed into Godzilla-on-steroids (or Gojira, for our Japanese friends) with the proper application of compression.