Cubase vs. Pro Tools?

jeremyandstuff

First-time poster here, so sorry if this is a really basic newbie question...

I've been recording on my home PC for about 10 years using a really outdated version of Sony ACID Pro. Now I'm looking to upgrade everything in my home studio and step into 2016. I've been researching different DAWs online, and I seem to have it narrowed down between Cubase and Pro Tools.

Seems like people tend to have really strong opinions about these two products. From what I gather, the consensus seems to be that Pro Tools is better for recording live instruments and in-depth tweaking/editing, while Cubase is better for composers and songwriters who use a lot of virtual instruments.

I mostly play indie/experimental rock where I record live guitars, bass, keyboards and vocals, along with programmed or looped drums/beats and occasional bells and whistles from sample libraries. I find myself leaning more toward Cubase even though its strengths don't seem to align with my style of recording as well as Pro Tools does. (I also really liked what I saw from Reason, but it seems like it is not compatible with a lot of outside software and plug-ins, unfortunately.)

Any thoughts or recommendations on which DAW might be the best fit for me? I imagine that anything I get will be a major upgrade from a 10-year-old version of ACID Pro running on Windows XP, but obviously I want to find the optimal choice. Thanks.

For what its worth, I like protools.
I have no, as in zero experience with curbase, and have only been working with Daws for a couple of months.

I have Reaper too which I used for about a month. It is a big favorite around here and seems to be pretty good. The pros are it's cheap with an unlimited 'testing' period and there are tons of tutorials on it. There is even a dedicated Reaper youtube channel.

Why im using protools instead is beacause almost everyone I know in the real world is using it.